Research Guides: SOC 4210 Criminal Theories: Home

Reference Books

The Morgan Library's reference section includes several dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks on the subject of Criminal Justice. Most of these resources will be in HV 6017 - 7900. Or search through LancerQuest for "criminal justice" AND encyclopedia.

Criminal Justice by Phyllis B. Gerstenfeld (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Board Member); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator)
Call Number: REF HV 6017 .C75 2006
ISBN: 9781587652189
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Criminal Justice-Barak by Gregg Barak (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313340406
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by Larry E. Sullivan (Editor); Marie Simonetti Rosen (Editor); M. R. Haberfeld (Editor); Dorothy Moses Schulz (Editor)
Call Number: REF HV 7921 .E53 2005
ISBN: 0761926496
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Guns in American Society by Gregg Lee Carter
Call Number: REF HV 7436 .G8783 2002
ISBN: 1576072681
Publication Date: 2002-12-12

Approved Websites

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's database of scholarly articles. Maximize your research with this 5 minute tutorial.

Assignment

Write a 6-8 page paper on a creating own criminal theory and support with evidence/research. Six sources, which includes research journals and books, will be required.

Journal Databases

Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Government reports and documents pertaining to U.S. security issues - School violence, domestic terrorism, presidential documents, surveillance, natural disasters, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information. Includes The New York Times.
NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology articles and books. Some have full-text.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in psychology and counseling.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects. Coverage runs from 1999 to the present.

Is this Journal Full Text?

Find Full Text Journals
Interlibrary Loan Form
You may request articles and books that are not available in the Morgan Library through this form. We will attempt to borrow the materials from another library for you. Please allow at least 1 week for delivery.

PsycINFO Tutorial

PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide (pdf)

Why use PsychINFO Thesaurus

Subject Guide

Tonya Fawcett

Email Me

Contact:

Morgan Library, Room 204

574.372.5100 x6291