Skip to main content

Archives & Digital Library: Morgan Library

Image of Archives [Andrew Embler 2015]

About

The Archives and Special Collections of Morgan Library serve the mission of Grace College & Seminary by collecting and preserving materials to provide a historic testimony for a contemporary faith. It serves as the repository of churches and agencies of Charis Fellowship and also houses materials relevant to the community of Winona Lake, Indiana.

Photocopies and Photographic Scans

Photocopying and digital scanning is permitted if physical condition and copyright allow. Copy machines are located on the main floor of the library. Photocopies are 10 cents per page, and digital scans completed by Morgan Library staff are $15 per scan. Mail, email and telephone requests are handled fully as time permits.

Morgan Library's Digital Collections

Photos and documents from Morgan Library's archival collections have been digitized and are available to the general public. These photos, postcards and documents contain rich historical significance. You may view the digital representations of those collections online.

Winona Echoes     The Winona Echoes provide the text of many of the messages presented during the   sessions of the Winona Lake Bible Conference held each summer for many years in     Winona Lake, Indiana.  Thousands thronged to Winona Lake to hear famous Christian   speakers and the Winona Echoes made the addresses available for attendees to read   and enjoy following the conference. The publications start with 1902 and end in 1947.     A couple years are missing unfortunately, in the early years but for the most part, the collection is intact.

The following guides, sometimes called "finding aids", describe the contents of individual collections housed within the archives and special collections at Grace College & Seminary. The materials in these collections are either located in the Morgan Library or at the Winona History Center in Westminster Hall. They have not been digitized and require on-site research visits. Processing our materials is on-going, and new collection guides will be made available as they are ready.

Appointments and Hours

Morgan Library’s Archives and Special Collections are open by appointment Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Staffing is usually not sufficient to provide research assistance to researchers during evening and weekend hours unless by special request. Researchers coming from a distance should contact the library in advance. Mail, email and telephone requests are handled fully as time permits.

Image of Temporary Viaduct Akron, Indiana.

Publishing

Numerous theses, scholarly articles and published books have been completed with extensive use of Morgan Library’s collections. Permission must be obtained to publish excerpts from archives and special collections materials, as determined by the depositor of materials. Researchers are responsible for determining U.S. copyright law status of materials.

Image of Rodheaver Sacred School of Music

Brethren Digital Archives

Morgan Library is a partner of the Brethren Digital Archives, an organization that seeks to digitize periodicals of each Brethren body that traces their origin to the baptisms of Alexander Mack and his friends near Schwarzenau, Germany in 1708.

Resources

The following bibliographies provide information about primary resource guides, published campaign pieces, collected sermons, biographies, dissertations and theses about William A. (Billy) Sunday and his wife, Helen (Ma) Sunday. Most of the resources listed are available at Morgan Library.

Image of Sunday Tabernacle