Research Guides: LIT 3670 Young Adult Literature: Finding Articles

Journals

The ALAN Review - Archives "The ALAN Review (TAR) is a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal published by the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English (ALAN). It is devoted solely to the field of literature for young adults. It is published three times per academic year (fall, winter, and summer) ." The web archives are 2 years behind the print version.
Children's Literature in Education "Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience."
The Horn Book Magazine is a bimonthly journal of opinion, reporting, and timely reviews of the best titles
The Looking Glass : New Perspectives on Children's Literature "The Looking Glass: New Perspectives on Children's Books is an electronic journal about children's literature. As the name suggests, they combine an interest in the traditional with an eye to the modern."
more...less...
An Open Access title
Reading Research Quarterly "For ongoing development of literacy research, provides a forum for research, investigation & viewpoints of literacy practices & policies."
more...less...
Full text 1994 - present (w/ 12 month embargo)

Selected Articles

The Value of Young Adult Literature by Michael Cart for YALSA
Publication Date: Jan 2008
This White Paper will discuss the nature and evolution of young adult literature with particular emphasis on its current condition and its value to its intended readership. In discussing its increased viability as a body of critically lauded literature, it will also discuss its importance in meeting the life needs of young adults and its increasing value in enhancing adolescent literacy. It will conclude by affirming the Young Adult Library Services Association’s commitment to evaluating, promoting, and supporting the most widespread availability possible of this literature to American youth.
Articles About Young Adult Literature: A List by Ted Hipple
Publication Date: ALAN Review, V29, N2, p. 63-68, Winter 2002
Presents annotations of 99 articles (most published between 1980 and 2001) about young adult literature. Describes the criteria used to select the articles.

Is this Journal Full Text?

Find Full Text Journals
Interlibrary Loan Form
You may request articles and books that are not available in the Morgan Library through this form. We will attempt to borrow the materials from another library for you. Please allow at least 1 week for delivery.

Scholarly Journal or Magazine?

How can you tell if an article is scholarly or from a magazine?

If you get your article from an online database, you can usually limit your results list to just scholarly journals. If you are using a print copy, here's some tips:

1. Scholarly journals report on original research and usually include charts, graphs and formulas. The articles are lengthy and usually have headings like method or methodology, results, and conclusion and include a bibliography. Examples of scholarly journals are American Journal of Education, Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society, and Modern Fiction Studies.

2. Magazine articles are written to inform and entertain a general audience. They may be news magazines, sports interest, cultural and social news, or a variety of topics features. They usually have colorful covers, lots of photos and advertisements. Articles are usually brief but can be longer and they seldom have a bibliography. Examples of magazines are Newsweek, Good Housekeeping, and Popular Mechanics.

Searching the Databases

Educational Research Complete, ERIC and Professional Development Collection are Education databases that will include journal articles on TEACHING or PEDAGOGY.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
The database provides indexing and abstracts for 2400 journals, as well as full text for over 1400 journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Education Research Complete Title List

ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education Index.
ERIC contains more than a 1.4 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from back to 1966.
Use the ERIC thesaurus to locate the appropriate subject term.
ERIC - Government Site This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from high quality education journals.

Professional Development Collection Title List

TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Teaching resources on fiction and nonfiction books for K-12, including multimedia materials. To login select "Indiana Teacher Education Institution".

Academic Search Complete, Literary Reference Center Plus, Litfinder, and JSTOR are databases that will help you locate book reviews and/or literary criticism that may be helpful as you prepare to teach a particular piece of literature.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for researching the humanities from the late 19th century to the present.
MLA International Bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. It covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, the teaching of language, and the history of publishing.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index of journals and book series published in the MLA International bibliography.