Research Guides: LIT 3670 Young Adult Literature: Resources for your Students

Web Sites

100 Best Teen Novels - NPR
Teens' Top Ten
"The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year! Nominators are members of teen book groups in fifteen school and public libraries around the country. Nominations are posted on the Thursday of National Library Week, and teens across the country vote on their favorite titles each year."

Explora Databases

Databases

These databases are designed for middle and high school students and public libraries. These are the types of resources you can expect your students will have access to. You may also be the one teaching them how to use these resources.

All Indiana residents have access to the INSPIRE Databases. This includes individuals, schools, and public libraries.

Explora for High Schools This link opens in a new window
A search tool designed for high school students to research in the areas of art, literature, business, health, history, math and science and current issues.
Explora for Middle Schools This link opens in a new window
A search tool designed for middle school students to research in the areas of art, literature, business, health, history, math and science and current issues.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
Read It! This link opens in a new window
Adapted reading material from a variety of subjects. Includes text-to-speech tool and Lexile Measures.