Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Morgan Library houses many Bible study resources. Most Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias are located in the Reference area of the library (main floor). Additional Bible study tools are available in the circulating collection on the 3rd level of the library.
All of these resources are listed in Morgan Library's LancerQuest.
Oxford photo essays
These images and support documents are intended to provide background information on important topics in the Bible.
Enter title, subject or author
The Biblical World by
Call Number: REF G2230 .I8 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-06
The Biblical World reveals how three great religions emerged from the same cradle. Chronologically arranged chapters detail battles, conquests, tribal migrations, & natural calamities, supporting the stories with intriguing archaeological evidence. Hundreds of photographs and artifacts add visual excitement. Quick-read timelines link events across cultures while illustrated sidebars focus on what life was like during each era: family roles, farming, trade, dress, childbirth, burial customs, and other aspects of daily existence.
The IVP Atlas of Bible History by
Call Number: REF BS630 .L38 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-31
The Atlas presents the latest findings in history and archaeology in a readable style that will appeal to anyone wanting to know more about the history of the Bible.The world of the Bible deals with more than the modern state of Israel. Almost half of the events in the Bible are set outside this territory, and much of the Bible is addressed to people in other lands.
The New Moody Atlas of the Bible by
Call Number: REF G2231.S1 B45 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
The New Moody Atlas of Bible Lands integrates the geography of Bible lands with the teachings of the Bible. Its one hundred thousand words provide commentary for more than ninety detailed maps of Palestine, the Mediterranean, the Near East, the Sinai, and Turkey.
Oxford Bible Atlas by
Maps show the geographical setting of the Bible's stories and reflect the successive stages of the Bible's accounts, while specially chosen full-colour illustrations bring the countries and their peoples to life. The accompanying text describes the land of Palestine, and its wider ancient Near Eastern and east Mediterranean settings. It outlines clearly the successive historical periods, and describes the major civilizations with which Israelites, Jews, and early Christians came into contact.
The Sacred Bridge by
Call Number: REF BS630 .R356 2006
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
The present atlas seeks to introduce the reader to the geographical elements that can help to make real the social, historical and spiritual experience of the People of the Book.
Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias often list subjects alphabetically and include people, places, theological subjects, and background information about the biblical world. They are located in the Reference collection. Some are multi-volume sets; others are single volumes.
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by The Dictionary of Early Judaism is the first reference work devoted exclusively to Second Temple Judaism (fourth century b.c.e. through second century c.e.). The first section of this substantive and incredible work contains thirteen major essays that attempt to synthesize major aspects of Judaism in the period between Alexander and Hadrian. The second ? and significantly longer ? section offers 520 entries arranged alphabetically. Many of these entries have cross-references and all have select bibliographies. Equal attention is given to literary and nonliterary (i.e. archaeological and epigraphic) evidence and New Testament writings are included as evidence for Judaism in the first century c.e. Several entries also give pertinent information on the Hebrew Bible. The Dictionary of Early Judaism is intended to not only meet the needs of scholars and students ? at which it succeeds admirably ? but also to provide accessible information for the general reader. It is ecumenical and international in character, bringing together nearly 270 authors from as many as twenty countries and including Jews, Christians, and scholars of no religious affiliation.
Call Number: REF BM176 .E34 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-11
Encyclopedia Judaica by The landmark Encyclopaedia Judaica, lauded as the standard work on Judaism since first appearing in the early 1970s, has been extensively revised and expanded for this long-awaited new edition. Nothing compromised, included are more than 21, 000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. Expanding the scope and relevance of this invaluable set are more than 2, 600 brand-new entries, many focusing on gender issues and New World geographic areas of the United States, Canada and Latin America. Even more clarity and substance is incorporated through the updating of some 11, 000 entries across all topics. The Holocaust segment alone features more than 50 entirely new articles. Scholars, general readers and students alike will use this 22-volume set. Extensive cross-referencing and large subject index are just two of the many features making this huge set easy to use. Quick references are also facilitated through place-name lists, a chronology, a Hasidism chart, lists of newspapers and periodicals. More than 600 maps, charts, tables, photographs, illustrations and other visuals concisely illustrate key textual elements, and among other features making this scholarly work accessible, are entry-specific bibliographies to help guide further research. Included in each volume is an 8-page full color insert that provides a rich and thematic illustration of th
Call Number: REF DS102.8 .E496 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by This landmark reference work is the first of its kind. Featuring 450 articles by an international community of scholars it is the definitive account of what we know about the Dead Sea Scrolls--their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them.Discovered in 1947 by a Bedouin shepherd, the collection of 800 manuscripts is older than any other collection of manuscripts of the Hebrew Scriptures by almost one thousand years. What do the scrolls tell us about the people who wrote them? What do they tell us about early Christianity andSecond Temple Judaism? How do they confirm or contradict what we thought we knew about the Bible?With contributions from 100 distinguished scholars representing diverse traditions and fields of learning, this volume offers the most comprehensive critical synthesis of current knowledge about the Dead Sea Scrolls--and their historical, archaeological, linguistic, and religious contexts.Written in non-technical language this reference work provides authoritative answers and information for all readers.
Call Number: REF BM487 .E53 2000
Publication Date: 2000-04-06