Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Walker Art & Artists
Walker Collections reflect a diverse range of artistic output, including painting, sculpture, films, performances, books, artist archives, and more.
Getty Search Gateway
"Currently, there are more than 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks."
Google Art Project
"Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture. Some paintings are available in ‘gigapixel’ format, allowing you to zoom in at brushstroke level to examine incredible detail. Use Google Street View to explore the interiors of landmarks such as the Palace of Versailles and The White House. Or, build and share your own virtual art gallery."
Life Magazine Photography Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Art History Resources
Art History websites collected and arranged by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe are available here.
From this site you can search for over 9,000 artists or by several other fields (titles of work, art museum, nationality, etc.) and be directed to online collections.
Getty Research Institute
"The Getty Research Institute is dedicated to furthering knowledge and advancing understanding of the visual arts and their various histories through its expertise, active collecting program, public programs, institutional collaborations, exhibitions, publications, digital services, and residential scholars programs. Its Research Library and Special Collections of rare materials and digital resources serve an international community of scholars and the interested public."
The blog of the J. Paul Getty Trust written by curators, educators, scholars, and many more. Coverage includes behind the scene looks at all aspects of the Getty -- history, conservation, research, etc.