Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statista is the leading statistics company on the Internet. Statista aggregates data on a professional level from different institutes and sources. There are over 80,000 topics from more than 180,000 different sources available.
Each statistic can be downloaded in different formats so that they can be integrated into the document (Graphic PNG file, PowerPoint file, PDF file, and Excel chart).
How to Video
The Statistical Abstract of the United States,published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Abstracts for 1878 through 2012 are available at the US Census website (link above.)
Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to additional resources.
The 2012 Edition was the last edition published by the US Government. Since 2013 the Statistical Abstract of the United States has been published by ProQuest.
Selected print copies from the 1960's through the current year are available in the Reference section of the Morgan Library:
Association of Religion Data Archives
The ARDA provides american and international, religion data for educators, journalists, religious congregations and researchers.
Pew Research Center - Religion & Public Life
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts."
Understanding your Community
Who Spends What
Household Spending - 20th Edition NEW by
Publication Date: 2015-07-30
Examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services by age, income, household type, region, race, and educational attainment. Products and services include apparel, entertainment, financial products, food, gifts, health care, household furnishing, shelter, & utilities, personal care, reading, education and transportation.
Start Here FIRST
A good starting point for research to help get background information and find keywords to use to continue your research.
Subject Specific Encyclopedias
There are MANY specialized encyclopedias available in the Morgan Library and can be accessed through LancerQuest. Here are a few examples:
Encyclopedia of School Psychology by
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .E523 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-27
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry by
Call Number: QD 95 .E55
Publication Date: 2000-01-27
Encyclopedia of Sports Films by
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .S67 E34
Publication Date: 2010-12-29
Encyclopedia of the Novel by
Call Number: PN41 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Maritime History by
Call Number: VK 14 .O84 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-02
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by
Call Number: HQ 1121 .O93
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
Online Reference Sources
Not all of the reference resources are available in print. More and more encyclopedias and dictionaries are being published and purchased in electronic format.
Database of online reference books including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Oxford Art Online
Includes access to additional Oxford art reference titles, including Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and links to image partners including ARTstor; Bridgeman Education; the British Museum; the Museum of Modern Art (New York); the Metropolitan Museum of Art; Art Images for College Teaching; Art Resource; Artists Rights Society; and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Oxford Music Online
Provides full-text access access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Reference provides quality up-to-date reference content, in a single cross-searchable database. There are over 2 million entries, many include illustrations.