Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literary Research by
Publication Date: 2009-09-24
The Handbook to Literary Research is a practical guide for students embarking on postgraduate work in Literary Studies. It introduces and explains research techniques, methodologies and approaches to information resources, paying careful attention to the differences between countries and institutions, and providing a range of key examples. This fully updated second edition is divided into five sections which cover: tools of the trade - a brand new chapter outlining how to make the most of literary resources textual scholarship and book history - explains key concepts and variations in editing, publishing and bibliography issues and approaches in literary research - presents a critical overview of theoretical approaches essential to literary studies the dissertation - demonstrates how to approach, plan and write this important research exercise glossary - provides comprehensive explanations of key terms, and a checklist of resources. Packed with useful tips and exercises and written by scholars with extensive experience as teachers and researchers in the field, this volume is the ideal Handbookfor those beginning postgraduate research in literature.
The Oxford Companion to English Literature (7th ed.) by
Call Number: REF PR19 .O94 2000 (6th ed.)
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
The Oxford Companion to English Literature has long been established as the leading reference resource for students, teachers, scholars, and general readers of English literature. It provides unrivalled coverage of all aspects of English literature ― from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions.
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature by
Call Number: REF PS21 .B46 1991
Publication Date: 1991-10-01
Dictionary of Midwestern Literature by
Call Number: REF PS273 .D53 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-30
Beat Culture: icons, lifestyles, and impact by
Call Number: REF PS228.B6 B368 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-20
Beat Culture is the definitive guide to one of the most vibrant and challenging periods in American cultural and political history. Sex and morality. Drugs and delinquency. War and peace. Madness and serene contemplation. These are all still contemporary concerns, but the history of the Beat Generation shows that such considerations are far from new.
Searching for Books or chapters in books
In the Morgan Library's collection you'll find Literary and critical reviews as complete books or chapters in books. In LancerQuest you can either perform a KEYWORD search on your author (last name is sufficient) and the title of the work OR a Subject Search using the title of the work as the subject.
Click on the title and then Description to see the table of contents for that book. Some older books will not have the table of contents and you'll have to locate the book the shelves to review the table of contents.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebooks that cover many academic disciplines.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebooks that cover many disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Large collection of ebooks published by Oxford University Press.
Search for scholarly articles, books, theses, and more!
Deep Blue is the University of Michigan's permanent, safe, and accessible service for representing our rich intellectual community. Its primary goal is to provide access to the work that makes Michigan a leader in research, teaching, and creativity.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Database that searches many repositories of Open Access dissertations worldwide.
OhioLINK ETD Center
The ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.
Open Access Theses & Dissertations
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
SUNScholar Research Repository
Repository of dissertations from Stellenbosch University Library which contains doctoral degrees in Ancient Studies.
University of Pittsburgh ETD
Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs) are theses or dissertations prepared as text-based PDF files. ETDs can contain non-text elements such as multimedia, sound, video, and hypertext links.