Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Morgan Library's reference section includes several dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks on the subject of Criminal Justice. Most of these resources will be in HV 6017 - 7900. You will also find chronologies in the reference section.
Circulating books will be located on the first floor of the library, with similar call numbers.
Use LancerQuest to locate specific titles. Below are some examples of books (and ebooks) in both the reference and circulating collections.
Corrections in America by
Call Number: HV9304 .A63 1978
Publication Date: 1978
Criminal Justice by
Call Number: REF HV 6017 .C75 2006
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by
Call Number: REF HV 7921 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebooks and specialized encyclopedias. Great place to start your research.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Broad selection of books for reliable, brief entries on many subjects.
FBI Crime Data Explorer
The FBI’s Crime Data Explorer (CDE) is the digital front door for UCR data. The interactive online tool enables law enforcement and the public to more easily use and understand the massive amounts of UCR data currently collected. With it, users can view charts and graphs that break down data in a variety of ways.
FBI - Uniform Crime Reporting Website
The UCR Program consists of four data collections: The National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), the Summary Reporting System (SRS), the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program, and the Hate Crime Statistics Program. The UCR Program publishes annual reports for each of these data collections and a preliminary semiannual report of summary data each winter, as well as special compilations on cargo theft, human trafficking, and NIBRS topical studies.
One 4 page paper will be assigned on a Corrections topic covered in class. This topic should be of particular interest to the student, yet one that is considered controversial in the Corrections field. The objective of this paper is for the student to interact with both sides of the research, and both sides of the argument. This paper must be written using APA format with a minimum of 6 scholarly sources. These resources must be from 2015-present. Only scholarly sources and governmental websites will be appropriate for this paper. For additional help on the research and writing, please make certain you make use of the writing lab and library.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Government reports and documents pertaining to U.S. security issues - School violence, domestic terrorism, presidential documents, surveillance, natural disasters, etc.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains more than 220,000 collection records for criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. This includes more than 60,000 online resources and all known Office of Justice Programs works.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text topic overviews cover multiple sides of an argument.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology books and articles. Some have full text.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects. Coverage runs from 1999 to the present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and periodicals providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military.
Is this Journal Full Text?
Interlibrary Loan Form
You may request articles and books that are not available in the Morgan Library through this form. We will attempt to borrow the materials from another library for you. Please allow at least 1 week for delivery.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States,published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Abstracts for 1878 through 2012 are available at the US Census website (link above.)
Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to additional resources.
The 2012 Edition was the last edition published by the US Government. Since 2013 the Statistical Abstract of the United States has been published by ProQuest.
Selected print copies from the 1960's through the current year are available in the Reference section of the Morgan Library:
In Class Worksheets
Assignment – Locate information on prison reform. This is a broad topic so you should narrow it down. How will you narrow it down? What is your research question?
Make sure you are confident in your ability to search for your source types (newspaper, scholarly article, government site, encyclopedia), as you will be teaching the class how to use those resources.
10 minutes to research
7 minutes to present