Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Morgan Library's reference section includes several dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks on the subject of Criminal Justice. Most of these resources will be in HV 6017 - 7900. You will also find chronologies in the reference section.
Circulating books will be located on the first floor of the library, with similar call numbers.
Use LancerQuest to locate specific titles. Below are some examples of books (and ebooks) in both the reference and circulating collections.
Criminal Justice by
Call Number: REF HV 6017 .C75 2006
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by
Call Number: REF HV 7921 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Multi-Agency Working in Criminal Justice by Multi-agency working continues to be a core focus in criminal justice and allied work, with the government investing significantly in training criminal justice professionals. This fully revised and expanded edition of this comprehensive text brings together probation, policing, prison, social work, criminological and organisational studies perspectives, and is an essential guide for students and practitioners in offender management and other managed care environments. The contributors provide critical analysis of the latest theory, policy and practice of multi-agency working and each chapter includes case studies, key points, exercises and further reading.
Publication Date: 2019-05-15
Careers for the Criminal Justice Major by The purpose of this book is to address the proper preparation for careers in criminal justice. Now more than ever, there is a societal demand for willing college graduates who are prepared to enter the field at the basic level, and eager to develop themselves into positions of responsibility and leadership. Due to rapid and continuous changes in technology and overall society, students entering the field of criminal justice employment will be expected to adjust to changes in their line of work. This book describes the realistic descriptions of the various entry-level positions that are offered, and practical information is provided to maximize efficiency in the selection of academic courses that will improve a student's likelihood of success during the application process. Major topics include: A Short History of Criminal Justice as an Academic Study; The Nature of Professions; Electives that Will Help; The Importance of an Internship; Disqualifiers and What to Avoid During College Years; Stereotypes and Misperceptions in Criminal Justice Employment; Careers in Law Enforcement, Corrections, and Private Security; Graduate School and Law School; Realistic Alternatives; Networking, Looking for Employment Leads, and References; Preparing for Testing and the Interview; Preparing for Transfers to Specialized Units and Promotions; and the Roles of Nontraditional Students, Minorities, and Women in Criminal Justice. The names of state law enforcement training councils, federal law enforcement agencies, intelligence agencies, state regulatory agencies, federal regulatory agencies, and criminal justice professional associations are contained in the Appendices to assist students and faculty members. This valuable resource is designed to assist college students majoring in criminal justice, police academics, and law enforcement professionals.
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Broad selection of books for reliable, brief entries on many subjects.
You will be required to write a 3-page paper on a current issue facing criminal justice professionals The paper must examine the role of law enforcement, the court, and corrections when addressing this issue. These MUST each be given a subheading within the paper. You must integrate biblical beliefs into the subject matter.
This paper must be written using APA format with a minimum of 9 scholarly sources. These resources must be from 2015-present. Governmental sources can be used but will not count toward your 9 source requirement.
For additional help on the research and writing, please make certain you make use of the writing lab and library.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Government reports and documents pertaining to U.S. security issues - School violence, domestic terrorism, presidential documents, surveillance, natural disasters, etc.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and periodicals providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military.
NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text topic overviews cover multiple sides of an argument.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology articles and books. Some have full-text.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects. Coverage runs from 1999 to the present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Best place to start for religion and theology research. Includes full-text journals and citation-only journals and books.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Citations of magazine articles, reviews and scholarly journals containing an evangelical perspective. Some full-text articles.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts related to the New Testament of the Christian Bible and the era when it was developed.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
Is this Journal Full Text?
Interlibrary Loan Form
You may request articles and books that are not available in the Morgan Library through this form. We will attempt to borrow the materials from another library for you. Please allow at least 1 week for delivery.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States,published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Abstracts for 1878 through 2012 are available at the US Census website (link above.)
Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to additional resources.
The 2012 Edition was the last edition published by the US Government. Since 2013 the Statistical Abstract of the United States has been published by ProQuest.
Selected print copies from the 1960's through the current year are available in the Reference section of the Morgan Library:
In Class Practice
Work with another student to answer the questions in the google sheet. Click here for the google sheet. Find your team number (Column A) and put your name in Column B, next to your number.