Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Modern Olympics Project:
Research Paper dealing with a modern Olympiad.
At least 1 outside source for each page of text
at least 10 pages in length
10-minute presentation of their research
Make sure you follow the Sport Management Program guidelines for both your paper and presentation!
The Olympics and Philosophy by It is said the champions of the ancient Olympic Games received a crown of olive leaves, symbolizing a divine blessing from Nike, the winged goddess of victory. While the mythology of the ancient games has come to exemplify the highest political, religious, community, and individual ideals of the time, the modern Olympic Games, by comparison, are widely known as an international, bi-annual sporting event where champions have the potential to earn not only glory for their country, but lucrative endorsement deals and the perks of worldwide fame. The Olympics and Philosophy examines the Olympic Movement from a variety of theoretical perspectives to uncover the connection between athleticism and philosophy for a deeper appreciation of the Olympic Pillars of Sport, Environment, and Culture. While today's Olympic champions are neither blessed by the gods nor rewarded with wreaths of olive, the original spirit and ancient ideals of the Olympic Movement endure in its modern embodiment. Editors Heather L. Reid and Michael W. Austin have assembled a team of international scholars to explore topics such as the concept of excellence, ethics, doping, gender, and race. Interweaving ancient and modern Olympic traditions, The Olympics and Philosophy considers the philosophical implications of the Games' intersection with historical events and modern controversy in a unique analysis of tradition and the future of the Olympiad.
Publication Date: 2012-06-30
Sport and Spectacle in the Ancient World by The second edition of Sport and Spectacle in the Ancient World updates Donald G. Kyle's award-winning introduction to this topic, covering the Ancient Near East up to the late Roman Empire. ? Challenges traditional scholarship on sport and spectacle in the Ancient World and debunks claims that there were no sports before the ancient Greeks ? Explores the cultural exchange of Greek sport and Roman spectacle and how each culture responded to the other's entertainment ? Features a new chapter on sport and spectacle during the Late Roman Empire, including Christian opposition to pagan games and the Roman response ? Covers topics including violence, professionalism in sport, class, gender and eroticism, and the relationship of spectacle to political structures
Publication Date: 2014-12-31
A Visitor's Guide to the Ancient Olympics by Neil Faulkner is research fellow at the University of Bristol, fellow of the Society of Antiquaries, and codirector of several field projects. A freelance archaeologist and historian, his previous books include Apocalypse: The Great Jewish Revolt against Rome and Rome: Empire of the Eagles. He lives in Herts, UK.
Publication Date: 2012-04-24
When searching for resources (books, videos, newspaper and journal articles) on the Olympics you are going to retrieve a lot of resources. So it will be necessary to narrow down your results.
You can Narrow down by YEAR
You may choose to search on a particular person or athletic event without including the word, Olympics to broaden your search.
Books and More
To narrow down your search use the ADVANCED Search and combine concepts and/or search in specific fields (i. e. subject, title, author).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Starting point for education research, from preschool to college.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects. Coverage runs from 1999 to the present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Selected Reference Resources
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport by Covers the whole world of sport, from major professional sports and sporting events to community and youth sport, as well as the business of sports and key social issues--
Call Number: REF GV 567 .B48 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Encyclopedia of World Sport by This monumental three volume work provides students and scholars with an unprecedented historical and cross-cultural survey of sports from around the world, together with articles on such topics as violence and ritual.
Call Number: REF GV 567 .E56 1996
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Outstanding Women Athletes by DescriptionA unique combination of history, biography, bibliography, and statistics, the widely acclaimed first edition of Outstanding Women Athletes has now been updated to reflect the many significant changes that have taken place in women's sports in America in recent years. Now added are the biographies of 26 sports figures who have recently emerged as role models in traditional women's sports such as tennis and figure skating as well as in sports that historically excluded women such as mountain climbing, bullfighting, and boxing. Also new is a chapter profiling 10 women's championship teams, including each organization's history, brief biographies of 200 selected team members, and major team achievements.
Call Number: REF GV 697 .A1 W69 1998
Publication Date: 1998-06-05
Sports by Sports is a comprehensive reference to 125 amateur and professional sports, featuring classic Olympic athletic events (track and field, aquatics, gymnastics, combat sports, and equestrian events), as well as team, individual and motor sports (boxing, hockey, tennis, skiing, soccer, basketball, and Formula 1). With one thousand annotated illustrations and four hundred color photographs, this book explains the games' history, rules, strategies, facilities and equipment. In addition, there are highlights of the greatest players from the past and present, analyses of changes in technology and comparisons of performance over the years. The presentation of the information is fascinating for browsers and fans. How big is a soccer pitch? What are the four types of tennis court surface? How do you throw the hammer? It is all here, plus three indices (terms, symbols and illustrations). Athlete profiles that list physical and mental requirements for each sport are invaluable guides for young athletes choosing a sport. For a full table of contents and sample page spreads, visit: fireflybooks.com/books/sports.html
Call Number: REF GV 704 .S663 2000
Publication Date: 2003-09-06