Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Morgan Library houses many Bible study resources. Most Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias are located in the Reference area of the library (main floor). Additional Bible study tools are available in the circulating collection on the 3rd level of the library.
All of these resources are listed in Morgan Library's LancerQuest.
Online Hebrew Encyclopedia
Enter title, subject or author
The Biblical World by
Call Number: REF G2230 .I8 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-06
The Biblical World reveals how three great religions emerged from the same cradle. Chronologically arranged chapters detail battles, conquests, tribal migrations, & natural calamities, supporting the stories with intriguing archaeological evidence. Hundreds of photographs and artifacts add visual excitement. Quick-read timelines link events across cultures while illustrated sidebars focus on what life was like during each era: family roles, farming, trade, dress, childbirth, burial customs, and other aspects of daily existence.
The IVP Atlas of Bible History by
Call Number: REF BS630 .L38 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-31
The Atlas presents the latest findings in history and archaeology in a readable style that will appeal to anyone wanting to know more about the history of the Bible.The world of the Bible deals with more than the modern state of Israel. Almost half of the events in the Bible are set outside this territory, and much of the Bible is addressed to people in other lands.
The New Moody Atlas of the Bible by
Call Number: REF G2231.S1 B45 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
The New Moody Atlas of Bible Lands integrates the geography of Bible lands with the teachings of the Bible. Its one hundred thousand words provide commentary for more than ninety detailed maps of Palestine, the Mediterranean, the Near East, the Sinai, and Turkey.
Oxford Bible Atlas by
Maps show the geographical setting of the Bible's stories and reflect the successive stages of the Bible's accounts, while specially chosen full-colour illustrations bring the countries and their peoples to life. The accompanying text describes the land of Palestine, and its wider ancient Near Eastern and east Mediterranean settings. It outlines clearly the successive historical periods, and describes the major civilizations with which Israelites, Jews, and early Christians came into contact.
The Sacred Bridge by
Call Number: REF BS630 .R356 2006
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
The present atlas seeks to introduce the reader to the geographical elements that can help to make real the social, historical and spiritual experience of the People of the Book.
Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias often list subject alphabetically and include people, places, theological subjects, and background information about the biblical world. They are located in the Reference collection. Some are multi-volume sets; others are single volumes.
Check out the Scripture Index in the back of these dictionaries to find relevant material for your passage.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry and Writings by 2009 Christianity Today Merit Award winner!2009 ECPA Gold Medallion (Bible Reference & Study)The Old Testament books of wisdom and poetry carry themselves differently from those of the Pentateuch, the histories or the prophets. The divine voice does not peal from Sinai, there are no narratives carried along by prophetic interpretation nor are oracles declaimed by a prophet. Here Scripture often speaks in the words of human response to God and God's world. The hymns, laments and thanksgivings of Israel, the dirge of Lamentations, the questionings of Qohelet, the love poetry of the Song of Songs, the bold drama of Job and the proverbial wisdom of Israel all offer their textures to this great body of biblical literature. Then too there are the finely crafted stories of Ruth and Esther that narrate the silent providence of God in the course of Israelite and Jewish lives.This third Old Testament volume in InterVarsity Press's celebrated "Black Dictionary" series offers nearly 150 articles covering all the important aspects of Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Over ninety contributors, many of them experts in this literature, have contributed to the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings. This volume maintains the quality of scholarship that students, scholars and pastors have come to expect from this series.Coverage of each biblical book includes an introduction to the book itself as well as separate articles on its ancient Near Eastern background and its history of interpretation. Additional articles amply explore the literary dimensions of Hebrew poetry and prose, including acrostic, ellipsis, inclusio, intertextuality, parallelism and rhyme. And there are well-rounded treatments of Israelite wisdom and wisdom literature, including wisdom poems, sources and theology. In addition, a wide range of interpretive approaches is canvassed in articles on hermeneutics, feminist interpretation, form criticism, historical criticism, rhetorical criticism and social-scientific approaches.The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings is sure to command shelf space within arm's reach of any student, teacher or preacher working in this portion of biblical literature.Tremper Longman III and Peter E. Enns edit this collection of 148 articles by 90 contributors on Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther.
Publication Date: 2010-05-11