Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 1100 Effective Writing: Articles

Searching Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a general academic database providing access to scholarly and popular journal articles.  Many of the journal citations link to the full text of the article.

For your research you may want to use the Advanced Search page to combine your concepts on different lines.

You can also limit by scholarly or peer reviewed titles, date,  or journal titles.

Your results can be printed or emailed.  Don't forget to use the Cite button to get the correct MLA citation.

How To Read a Research Article

For Each Article you locate in your search:

READ

  • Abstract -- Start here.  If the information provided here meets your needs, continue on.  If not, find an article that better fits your needs
  • Introduction - What is the author proposing?
  • Conclusion - What did the author discover?
  • Literature Review, Methodology, Research, etc. - Start from the beginning and carefully read with your pen in hand so you can ANNOTATE

ANNOTATE - write all on and throughout your reading of the article

  • Summarize - paragraphs or sections
  • Reflect on arguments
  • Evaluate the evidence 

Search Academic Search Complete

Points of View

Points of View Reference can help you find topics and offer basic information on both sides of the issue.

Nexis Uni

Anatomy of a Journal Citation

Image of Citation from EBSCO

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Tonya Fawcett
Contact:
Morgan Library, Room 204
574.372.5100 x6291
Website

Databases

Morgan Library provides access to over 106 databases. General databases like Academic Search Complete cover a broad range of topics. Other library databases limit their coverage to specific disciplines or subjects. These are valuable for in-depth and scholarly research. Consult the library's Databases by Subject page to locate recommended databases in various subject areas.