Research Guides: SOC 3560 Victimology: Resources (books, journals, websites)

Books

The Morgan Library's reference section includes several dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks on the subject of Criminal Justice. Most of these resources will be in HV 6017 - 7900. Or search through LancerQuest for "criminal justice" AND encyclopedia.

Circulating books will be located on the first floor of the library, with similar call numbers.

Use LancerQuest to locate specific titles. Below are some examples of books (and ebooks) in the collection.

Criminal Justice by Phyllis B. Gerstenfeld (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Board Member); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator)
Call Number: REF HV 6017 .C75 2006
ISBN: 9781587652189
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by Larry E. Sullivan (Editor); Marie Simonetti Rosen (Editor); M. R. Haberfeld (Editor); Dorothy Moses Schulz (Editor)
Call Number: REF HV 7921 .E53 2005
ISBN: 0761926496
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Judging Victims by Jennifer L. Dunn
Call Number: HV6250.25 .D86 2010
ISBN: 9781588267023
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Not Quite Healed by Cecil Murphey; Gary Roe
Call Number: RC569.5.A28 M87 2013
ISBN: 9780825442704
Publication Date: 2013-03-08
Understanding Victims and Restorative Justice by Dignan
ISBN: 9780335224852
Publication Date: 2004-11-01

Journal Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Starting point for education research, from preschool to college.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information. Includes The New York Times.
NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology articles and books. Some have full-text.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects. Coverage runs from 1999 to the present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.

Is this Journal Full Text?

Find Full Text Journals
Interlibrary Loan Form
You may request articles and books that are not available in the Morgan Library through this form. We will attempt to borrow the materials from another library for you. Please allow at least 1 week for delivery.

PsycINFO Tutorial

PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide (pdf)

Why use PsychINFO Thesaurus

Approved Websites

Bureau of Justice Statistics
FBI - Uniform Crime Reporting Website
Indiana Crime Justice Institute
"The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute (ICJI) is the State planning agency for criminal justice, juvenile justice, traffic safety and victim services. ICJI is designated as the State Administering Agency for distribution of federal funds, and as the State Statistical Analysis Center for research."
National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)
Office for Victims of Crime (US Justice Department)
OVC is charged by Congress with administering the Crime Victims Fund which supports a broad array of programs and services that focus on helping victims in the immediate aftermath of crime and continuing to support them as they rebuild their lives.
Review of best practices for ICJI program areas and funding streams Victims of Crime Act
This report describes best practices for subgrants awarded under the Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) funding stream administered by ICJI Includes 1) a review of best practices for each ICJI program area and 10 major funding streams, and 2) a statewide criminal justice data assessment.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.
Uniform Crime Reporting Handbook

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's database of scholarly articles. Maximize your research with this 5 minute tutorial.

Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics
As a supplement to Crime in the United States (CIUS), the FBI, in cooperation with the Bureau of Justice Statistics, provides this site that allows users to build their own customized data tables.
more...less...
The table-building provides information within the following parameters:

national crime estimates from 1960 through the most recent year available
state crime estimates from 1960 through the most recent year available
city and county crime counts from 1985 through the most recent year available.

SOC 3560 Victimology: Resources (books, journals, websites)