Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Enter title, subject or author
PDR - Browse by Drug Name
The Physician's Desk Reference (PDR) contains FDA-approved product labeling -- safety and other clinically relevant information -- for prescription drugs.
Morgan Library Books
In the Morgan Library's collection, you'll find a number of nursing and medical books. In LancerQuest you can either perform a KEYWORD search or a SUBJECT search to find books on your topic. KEYWORDs can be anywhere in the LancerQuest record. SUBJECTS are only found in the subject or descriptor field. KEYWORD searches will usually give you more results than a SUBJECT search, but a SUBJECT search will provide you with more accurate and relevant results.
Below is a sample of the Nursing Books available in the Morgan Library. There are 3 locations. Online, Reference (main floor) and Circulating (lower level). The Print books will have the call numbers that begin with RT. Other related books will have the call numbers of QM (anatomy), R, RC, RD, RJ, and RM.
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Best money I have spent in a LONG time. "I'm a nursing student and part of our clinical rotation was to write down our patient's lab results and note on any abnormals why they were abnormal for my particular patient. This book lists out not just the normal levels, but what conditions can contribute to the high or low values. Sometimes it's pages and pages of possible reasons. This baby is a fantastic time saver for me." Great for nursing school, you will use it constantly."Best nursing lab book I've encountered. Definitely worth the money." -- Amazon Reviewer The information nurses need...when, where, and how they need it! Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this manual delivers all of the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete names for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Plus, a Body Systems Appendix includes a list of common laboratory and diagnostic tests for each body system as well as nutrition-related lab tests. Explore MORE online! Tap into Fast Find: Lab & Dx, the complete monograph library online, anytime, anywhere.
Call Number: Ref RB38.2 .D38 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-15
Fundamentals of Nursing by Bring the principles of nursing to life and build a foundation for success from the classroom to the clinical setting. Fundamentals of Nursing: Concepts and Competencies for Practice, 9th Edition helps foster the strong critical thinking, clinical judgment, clear communication, and sound clinical skills students need to succeed throughout the nursing curriculum and to meet the challenges practicing nurses confront each day. Drawing from the latest clinical evidence, this big-picture approach breathes life into theoretical principles, putting students in the mindset of a successful nurse and immersing them in a proven nursing process framework that clarifies key capabilities, from promoting health to differentiating between normal function and dysfunction, to the use of scientific rationales and the approved nursing process. This updated 9th Edition further enhances students'' clinical capabilities with new Unfolding Patient Stories that challenge students to think critically about commonly encountered patient scenarios. More than 850 online NCLEX®-style review questions, as well as NCLEX®-style review questions in the book, reinforce students'' test-taking confidence. New Critical Thinking Using QSEN Competencies features provide essential practice for applying concepts to clinical situations. NEW! Unfolding Patient Stories, written by the National League for Nursing, foster valuable reflection on commonly encountered clinical scenarios. UPDATED! Additional NCLEX® Review questions reinforce students'' exam readiness. NEW! Critical Thinking Using QSEN Competencies features include thought-provoking questions to boost students'' clinical reasoning and problem-solving capabilities. NEW!Revised organization of the Table of Contents reflects an updated focus on foundational nursing concepts and competencies. Case Scenarios at the beginning of each chapter encourage students to think holistically about common clinical situations. Richly illustrated concept maps help visual learners apply the nursing process and think critically about the chapter-opening case scenarios. PICO (patient/problem, intervention, comparison, outcome) displays guide students through a structured, evidence-based approach to finding answers to clinical challenges related to the chapter-opening case scenarios. Collaborating with the Healthcare Team displays familiarize students with the SBAR technique for effective interpersonal communication. Therapeutic Dialogues emphasize close listening and enhance students'' patient communication capabilities. Concept Mastery Alerts clarify potentially confusing topics as identified by Lippincott''s Adaptive Learning powered by PrepU. Apply Your Critical Thinking features encourage deep thinking on concepts and situations, with detailed answers in an appendix identifying areas for further review. Ethical-Legal Issues equip students to think critically about complex situations they may encounter. Plan of Care features help students apply available knowledge and evidence-based research to create effective care plans. Outcome-Based Teaching Plans guide students to specific patient education outcomes. NANDA-I Tables clearly outline the relationship between nursing diagnosis, outcomes and interventions. Safety Alerts highlight specific considerations for safe practice. Evidence-Based Bundles to Improve Patient Care recommend sets of evidenced-base practices to reliably improve patient outcomes. Key Terms lists familiarize students with essential vocabulary in each chapter. Learning Objectives alert students to the most important chapter concepts.
Call Number: RT41 .F8813 2021
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Gahart's 2019 Intravenous Medications by Equip yourself to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs with the #1 IV drug handbook on the market! Now in its 35th edition, Gahart's 2019 Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals continues to be the most proven resource for comprehensive drug coverage, unparalleled accuracy, and an intuitive quick-access format. In addition to updating drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all existing IV drugs, this new 35th edition includes over a dozen new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA. When being inaccurate or out-of-date is not an option, Gahart's annual publication and 40-year history of impeccable accuracy offers the confidence and proven guidance you need to safely and effectively administer any IV drug available today. Annual publication prevents users from referencing outdated information. 40-year history of impeccable accuracy reinforces the importance of safe IV drug administration. Monographs on more than 400 IV drugs offers an impressive breadth of coverage that goes well beyond any comparable drug reference. The perfect depth of information contains everything that is needed by today's clinicians for safe administration of IV drugs - nothing less, nothing more. Proven, clinically-optimized page layout keeps all dosage information for each drug on either a single page or a two-page spread to prevent hand contamination by having to turn a page. Highlighted Black Box Warnings and relevant content make locating critical information fast and easy. Special circumstances in blue-screened text call attention to important circumstances that may not warrant black box warnings. Convenient, alphabetical format organizes all drug monographs by generic name, allowing users to find any drug in seconds. Dilution and dosage charts within monographs provide quick access to essential clinical information. Life stage dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients. Additional drug monographs not included in the printed guide are housed on the companion Evolve website. (Drugs found in ebook formats.) NEW! Over a dozen new drug monographs provide current, clinically relevant drug information for the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA. NEW! Updates on drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and more have been made throughout the guide to reflect all changes to existing medications.
Call Number: Ref RM170 .G343 2019
Publication Date: 2018-05-14
Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference by Trusted for over 25 years, this portable, full-color drug reference is easy to navigate and provides safety features that help you practice knowledgeable, safe medication dispensing. Content on more than 5,000 generic and brand-name drugs covers almost every drug you are likely to encounter in clinicals. Side effects information, logically organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, shows you the important and intricate signs to watch for during assessments. This guide also includes complete pharmacokinetic tables that explain the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as the action, duration, and excretion of the drug. Whether you're in the classroom or in clinicals, Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference, 34th Edition is the all-in-one drug reference you need. Content on more than 5,000 generic and brand-name drugs covers almost every drug you will encounter in clinicals. A Safety Alert feature icon highlights the most critical interactions and side effects that you must be aware of during clinicals. A Black Box Warning feature alerts you to FDA warnings of potentially life-threatening reactions. Bold heading and details on IV drug administration so students can easily find appropriate dosage and IV instructions to help them administer these drugs safely. Side effects information is logically organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, alerting students to the signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process Framework organizes all nursing care steps so students learn how to easily and completely incorporate the nursing process into their clinical experiences. Cross-reference headers in the book listings and in the appendicies make it easier to find the drug content quickly and less likely that students will think a drug is missing if it's not first found in the book. Complete pharmacokinetic tables explain the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as the action, duration, and excretion of the drug. NEW! Approximately 25 monographs on newly released, FDA-approved drugs give you the intricate details you need both in the classroom and clinicals. Each monograph includes new interactions, precautions, alerts, patient teaching instructions, and other need-to-know information - so you'll feel confident in the accuracy of the information and in preventing medication dispensing errors. NEW! Up-to-date content on drug therapies provides you with instant access to the latest information.
Call Number: Ref RM301.12 .S55 2021
Publication Date: 2020-03-26
Nursing in Today's World by Fully updated to cover today's issues and trends, this classic text contains many real-life scenarios, giving students ample opportunities to understand and apply what they are learning. Chronological coverage moves from history (Unit I) to current events and issues (Unit II) to future nursing roles and responsibilities (Unit III). Using examples and case studies throughout, the authors address a wide range of topics, including educational preparation, licensure, employment opportunities, ethics. Key Features NEW! Content updates include coverage of QSEN competencies, National Patient Safety Goals and their effect on healthcare delivery and reimbursement, recent healthcare legislation, and the use of electronic health records. NEW! Daily Ethical Dilemmas boxes allow students to explore complex healthcare issues, such as disaster, social media, HIPAA, genomics, and more. NEW! Nursing Theory Alert boxes break down for students how theoretical concepts, such as Transcultural Nursing, apply to real-life practice. NEW! Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize current research on important topics and show students how research drives positive practice outcomes. NEW! Cartoon Curriculum visuals help students acquire knowledge quickly, improve comprehension, enhance retrieval, and increase retention. Some cartoons bring humor to difficult subjects while others are satirical, ironic, and thought-provoking. Designed for adults in the vein of cartoons in TheNew Yorker , these visuals give students food for thought. NEW! Stegen & Sowerby Stories are unfolding case studies that help students understand the connection between what they are learning and their careers. NEW! NCLEX ® Preparation Tools include 3 to 5 NCLEX-style questions at the end of each chapter. Critical Thinking Activities challenge students to analyze examples and problems derived from the content. Communication in Actionboxes help students develop skills by modeling good and bad communication.
Call Number: RT82 .E45 2019
Publication Date: 2018-10-11