MA Counseling: Locating Journal Articles

Scholarly Journals are written by discipline experts (often faculty members) to report on research and share new information

Peer-Reviewed:  before an article is accepted for publication, it is reviewed by discipline peers.  They will often offer editorial suggestions. 

References:  scholarly articles will often have many references to document their research.

Journal Titles: journal titles often contain the words, Journal, Quarterly, Research, or Review

Look: scholarly journals usually have few advertisements and photos, but may contain charts, graphs, and images that help explain the research

Length:  scholarly articles can be 20-30 pages in length.

Many journal articles are available full text through several of our full text databases.  To find out where your journal title is published electronically, use the Find Full Text Journals link available on the library's website and below.

Enter the title of the journal (not the article title) into the box and click, GO.

If the journal if available full text, a link to the appropriate database will be provided.  Click on that link to access that database, and journal.

If the journal is NOT available full text, please complete an Interlibrary Loan Form and we will send you a copy of the article.

What if the link I saved to the article doesn't work? 

If you saved a persistent link, or the link you have in Zotero isn't working, try adding this Proxy-Prefix to the front of your persistent link. 

Here's the Proxy Prefix:  https:heinz.grace.edu/login?url=   

and here's how you add it to your persistent link, which looks like this: 

http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=100884242&site=ehost-live

​Here's what your link should look like:

https:heinz.grace.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=100884242&site=ehost-live

If you want to see if a library near you has journals you need, search for a journal by title and to locate the closest library that owns that journal.

Use Google Scholar with the Full Text@Grace College feature to find scholarly articles within the library's collection.

Set your preferences in Google Scholar:

1. Go to Google Scholar

2. Click on the =  (Hamburger button) in the upper left)

3. Click on Setting.

4. Click on "Library Links" in the left column and type in: Grace College & Seminary

5. Select "Grace College & Seminary - Full Text @ Grace College"

6. Click "Save"