On the lower level of the Morgan Library you will find the Children's and YA Literature collection. To determine the YA books located in this collection you can perform a Subject Search in LancerQuest your search will turn up a number of books in this collection
In the search box type: su:Young adult works
To locate Young Adult or Adolescent literature in LancerQuest, click on Advanced Search.
On the right, under Searching Databases, confirm that only WorldCat.org is being searched. Click Save Changes above if changes are made.
There are more boxes on the bottom left of the screen. Change Audience to “Juvenile” and Held By Library to “Grace College and Seminary.”
Choose other criteria as desired and enter key terms in the search boxes. Click on Search.
You can limit the search further by checking the appropriate boxes along the left side of the page.
Look for Call numbers that start with YA
The Children's and YA Literature collection is located on the lower level of the library, to the right of and behind the stairs.
Booklist's 1000 Best Young Adult Books Since 2008 by "Research plays an indispensable role in the textual discovery process for students. Good research skills help the literary explorer learn more about the author and the author’s world, examine scholarly interpretations of the text, and create new studies and interpretations to add to a body of knowledge. Sometimes the goals of textual discovery and interpretation can get lost in the minutiae of database searching and conforming to specific citation styles. "
Outcomes:
"Research Competency Guidelines for Literatures in English", American Library Association, September 6, 2006.
http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/researchcompetenciesles (Accessed October 21, 2019)
Booklist's 1000 Best Young Adult Books since 2000 by 
Discovering Their Voices by
"Authors Marsha M. Sprague and Kara K. Keeling propose a language arts curriculum that incorporates literature-based discussions to help adolescent girls deal constructively with difficult issues and develop their own authentic voices. To help you put such a curriculum into action, this book offers the following resources: a research base to frame instruction; extensive literature reviews and a bibliography to help you choose appropriate, engaging books; discussion questions to guide your students through challenging topics; lesson plans that cover both girls' issues and curriculum mandates; and ideas for in-class activities and extracurricular book clubs"
Diversity in Youth Literature: Opening Doors through Reading by
"When planning services, collections, and programs for children and teens from diverse populations, many librarians and teachers fail to fully embrace the fully spectrum of diversity within the United States as well as the scope of considerations for developing inclusive library and classroom practices. These essays help you understand that your offerings should represent all of the cultural expressions that are often overlooked."
Integrating Young Adult Literature Through the Common Core Standards by 
In the Middle: A liftime of learning about writing, reading, and adolescents, 3rd Edition by
Nancie guides newcomers to a rich, satisfying practice while sharing her latest innovations and refinements with those who have made In the Middle their teaching touchstone.
Spirituality in Young Adult Literature by
In a time when almost any gritty topic can be featured in a young adult novel, there is one subject that is avoided by writers and publishers. Faith and belief in God seldom appear in traditional form in novels for teens. The lack of such ideas in mainstream adolescent literature can be interpreted by teens to mean that these matters are not important. Yet a significant part of growing up is struggling with issues of spirituality. The underlying problem, of course, is that there are so few writers who are willing to talk to teenagers about God, even indirectly, or who themselves have the religious literacy for the task. In this volume, Patty Campbell examines not only realistic fiction, but young adult literature that deals with mysticism, apocalyptical end times, and even YA novels that depict the Divine Encounter.
Young Adult and Canonical Literature by 
Young Adult Literature by
Cart's up-to-date coverage makes this the perfect resource for YA librarians who want to sharpen their readers' advisory skills, educators and teachers who work with young people, and anyone else who wants to understand where YA lit has been and where it's heading.
Teacher Education students have access to an invaluable resource during their years at the college. The Education Resource Center (ERC), located in Mount Memorial Hall, houses a small collection of textbooks, tests, children’s and adolescent literature, and curriculum materials. The collection also includes manipulatives and instructional tools to aid in developmentally appropriate instruction. This resource is of particular value while taking methods courses and during student teaching.
As of Fall 2018, the lamination service has moved to the Library. Submit your materials requiring lamination to the staff at the Circulation desk.
HOURS 10-3 Monday - Friday
