Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology articles and books. Some have full-text.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects. Coverage runs from 1999 to the present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Government reports and documents pertaining to U.S. security issues - School violence, domestic terrorism, presidential documents, surveillance, natural disasters, etc.
NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources.
NOTE: No NOT use quotation marks (" ") around phrases in your search
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Best place to start for religion and theology research. Includes full-text journals and citation-only journals and books.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Citations of magazine articles, reviews and scholarly journals containing an evangelical perspective. Some full-text articles.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in psychology and counseling.
The Morgan Library's provides access to print and electronic books on the subject of Criminal Justice. Most of the print books will be in HV 6017 - 7900 (on the first floor). Or search through LancerQuest for print and electronic books. Selected titles are listed below.
Abetting Batterers by Whatever the number, domestic violence victims remain far too many for a preventable crime. More and more victims of intimate partner violence are reaching out to police, prosecutors and judges only to be sorely disappointed, even betrayed. While laws and programs have multiplied over the last few decades to address domestic violence, the country is getting safer for almost everyone except for women who have, or have had, abusive male intimate partners. Andrew R. Klein and Jessica L. Klein look at the criminal justice response to domestic violence across America today, ranging from police to prosecutors and courtrooms across the nation. Abetting Batterers reveals the troubling pattern of inattention and incompetence that compromises the safety of women and encourages their male abusers to continue their abuse and violence. Although criminal justice system agencies vary among cities, towns and counties within the same state they all too often relegate domestic violence to the backburners of the system, dismissing victims and ignoring even the most serious and chronic abusers. The variation reveals the real problem in preventing intimate partner violence lies in these agencies' commitment and will, rather than their ability to do the job. The authors unveil what is working in regard to protecting victims of domestic violence and holding their abusers accountable, and they suggest strategies for ensuring that what is being done right can be replicated and become the law and practice across the nation. The wide variation in how intimate partner violence is handled by similar jurisdictions demonstrates the real problem in preventing it lies in these agencies' commitment, rather than ability to do the job. This book proves to be invaluable in understanding what is and is not being done in the reality of domestic violence in America.
Call Number: HV6626.2 .K5947 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-24
Decriminalizing Domestic Violence by Readers are challenged "to view intimate partner violence not as a criminal justice concern but as an economic, public health, community, and human rights problem. At a moment when we are examining our national addiction to punishment, Decriminalizing Domestic Violence offers a thoughtful, pragmatic roadmap to real domestic violence reform"
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
The Handbook of Race, Ethnicity, Crime, and Justice by This Handbook presents current and future studies on the changing dynamics of the role of immigrants and the impact of immigration, across the United States and industrialized and developing nations. It covers the changing dynamics of race, ethnicity, and immigration, and discusses how it all contributes to variations in crime, policing, and the overall justice system. Through acknowledging that some groups, especially people of color, are disproportionately influenced more than others in the case of criminal justice reactions, the "War on Drugs", and hate crimes; this Handbook introduces the importance of studying race and crime so as to better understand it.
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
Race in the Criminal Justice System by Race in the Criminal Justice System examines the experience of minorities in the court and prison system, delving into the historical institutions and laws that underpin today's system and exploring what governments and activists are doing to face these issues. Features include essential facts, a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index.
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Why use PsychINFO Thesaurus
Scholarly periodicals are usually published by professional organizations or academic institutions and consist of reports of research written by professors or scholars in their field. Some examples are, The Journal of Management, Journal of Educational Research, Journal for the Study of Paul and His Letters, and Research in Phenomenology Often these publications are not published more than quarterly, sometimes only one or two times each year. The journals consist of articles that are long 15-30 pages and the only images are graphs or charts that reflect the research being discussed. Occasionally there will be advertisements for conferences or writing opportunities.
Is this Journal Full Text?
Interlibrary Loan Form
You may request articles and books that are not available in the Morgan Library through this form. We will attempt to borrow the materials from another library for you. Please allow at least 1 week for delivery.
Search LancerQuest for information about the Artist.
To search for your artist as the subject use su:
example: su: monet