General Research - COM 1100 - Public Speaking in Society - Dr. Loebs - Research Guides at Grace College & Seminary

Statista

Statista is the leading statistics company on the Internet. Statista aggregates data on a professional level from different institutes and sources. There are over 80,000 topics from more than 180,000 different sources available.

Each statistic can be downloaded in different formats so that they can be integrated into the document (Graphic PNG file, PowerPoint file, PDF file, and Excel chart).

How to Video

Understanding your Community

Hoosiers by the Numbers

Hoosierdata.in.gov provides labor market information for Indiana.

U.S. Census Data

Data.census.gov provides access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Opposing Viewpoints

Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text topic overviews cover multiple sides of an argument.

ProCon.org
Founded on July 12, 2004, ProCon.org is the country's leading source for pro, con, and related research on controversial issues. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, ProCon.org uses professional researchers and rigorous editorial standards to explore more than 80 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.

Local Information

Local News Sources

ABC57 (South Bend)

Ink Free News

The Journal Gazette (Fort Wayne)

Warsaw Times Union

WANE (Fort Wayne)

WNDU (South Bend)

WPTA (Fort Wayne)

WSBT (South Bend)

Local Public Enterprises

Kosciusko County (Government)

Warsaw Community Public Library

Warsaw Community Schools

Warsaw, Indiana Government

Winona Lake, Indiana

Governments hold regular meetings open meetings. You can often locate minutes at their websites.

Start Here FIRST

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.

Online Reference Sources

Not all of the reference resources are available in print. More and more encyclopedias and dictionaries are being published and purchased in electronic format.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebooks and specialized encyclopedias.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes access to additional Oxford art reference titles, including Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and links to image partners including ARTstor; Bridgeman Education; the British Museum; the Museum of Modern Art (New York); the Metropolitan Museum of Art; Art Images for College Teaching; Art Resource; Artists Rights Society; and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Broad selection of books for reliable, brief entries on many subjects.

Search LancerQuest

Search LancerQuest for books, articles, videos, and so much more:

Newspaper Articles

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information. Includes The New York Times.
McClatchy-Tribune Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news (last 90 days only) from news wires, newspapers, television, and radio shows.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text news articles from more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, and some full-text from over 300 regional newspapers. Also features full-text transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.

COM 1100 - Public Speaking in Society - Dr. Loebs : General Research