Subject Area Research - COM 1100 - Public Speaking in Society - Dr. Loebs - Research Guides at Grace College & Seminary

Behavioral Sciences Resources

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in psychology and counseling.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology articles and books. Some have full-text.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journals in nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Extensive listing of medical scholarly journal articles compiled by the U.S. government, some available full text.
Alexander Street - Psychology & Counseling This link opens in a new window
A subset of the Alexander Street Academic Video Online, this collection of videos focus on the areas of Psychology and Counseling, covering a wide range of client issues as well as the psychology behind human behavior.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Government reports and documents pertaining to U.S. security issues - School violence, domestic terrorism, presidential documents, surveillance, natural disasters, etc.
NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources.

Business Resources

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business related articles and reports. Helpful when looking for company and industry information.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text business journals, magazines and reference books, as well as case studies and company profiles.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text sources about business ownership including reference books, research reports, magazines, and professional publications. It also includes sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
Business Wire News This link opens in a new window
Full-text business articles from regional newspapers and magazines.
Health Business FullTEXT This link opens in a new window
Articles focused on the business of healthcare and the healthcare industry.
EBSCO Management Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text business articles and company profiles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.

Education Resources

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Starting point for education research, from preschool to college.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering education from early childhood through higher education.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from high quality education journals.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from scholarly teaching journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

Humanities Resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Academic journal and specialized magazine articles in the humanities published after 1984.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and professional publications in communication, mass media, and film studies.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine and journal articles along with primary source documents in U.S. and world history.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes chapters and essays in the humanities and social sciences from 1985 to present.
Fuente Academica Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain in a variety of subjects.

Ministry Resources

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Best place to start for religion and theology research. Includes full-text journals and citation-only journals and books.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Citations of magazine articles, reviews and scholarly journals containing an evangelical perspective. Some full-text articles.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in theology and philosophy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts related to the New Testament of the Christian Bible and the era when it was developed.
Association of Religion Data Archive This link opens in a new window
Data on American and international religions are submitted by religion scholars and research centers from around the world.

STEM Resources

Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from science magazines, biographies, encyclopedias, reference books, scholarly journals, and country fact sheets. Also includes images and videos.
PLOS This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles featuring original research from science, engineering and medicine.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Listing of scholarly journal articles related to environmental issues.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journals in nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Extensive listing of medical scholarly journal articles compiled by the U.S. government, some available full text.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Citations of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
Creation-Evolution Literature Database This link opens in a new window
Articles and abstracts addressing the creation / evolution debate. More than 40% are linked to the full-text.
Biomedical Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
A select resource for medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical science.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.

The Arts Resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines. The journals are all full-text from vol. 1 to 3-5 years ago.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Academic journal and specialized magazine articles in the humanities published after 1984.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles with background information about art and artists.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Background articles focused on Western Art music, with some coverage of Jazz, non-western and folk music.
Alexander Street - Art & Design This link opens in a new window
A subset of the Alexander Street Academic Video Online, this resource features the best in painting, sculpture, photography, mixed media, architecture, fashion design, and more.
Art in the Christian Tradition This link opens in a new window
Visual images representing Christianity from antiquity to the present with searchable Scripture index. Features street art, mosaics, frescoes, manuscripts, sculptures, architecture, and paintings.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Citations of magazine articles, reviews and scholarly journals containing an evangelical perspective. Some full-text articles.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The best choice for film and television research.

COM 1100 - Public Speaking in Society - Dr. Loebs : Subject Area Research

Multidisciplinary Databases

Behavioral Sciences Resources

Business Resources

Education Resources

Humanities Resources

Ministry Resources

STEM Resources

The Arts Resources

Using "Research Says..." instead of "I think..."

"Evidence-based research is the use of prior research in a systematic and transparent way to inform a new study so that it is answering questions that matter in a valid, efficient, and accessible manner" (Robinson, et. al)