Research Guides: Exercise Science: Home

Primary Databases

Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journals in nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Extensive listing of medical scholarly journal articles compiled by the U.S. government, some available full text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology articles and books. Some have full-text.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles about biomedical and life sciences from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects. Coverage runs from 1999 to the present.

If you find an article that isn't full-text (in a bibliography or abstract only database), here are a few options.

Check if the journal is full-text in one of our other databases: Is this Journal Full Text?
Check if the article is full-text on Google Scholar using quotation marks around the title.
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan and we will email it to you.

Biology Direct
"Biology Direct serves the life science research community as an open access, peer-reviewed online journal, providing authors and readers with an alternative to the traditional model of peer review. Biology Direct considers original research articles, hypotheses, comments, discovery notes and reviews in subject areas currently identified as those most conducive to the open review approach, primarily those with a significant non-experimental component."
Open Biology
Open Biology is an online journal, publihsed by the Royal Society, that publishes "original, high impact research in cell and developmental biology, molecular and structural biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, immunology, microbiology and genetics."

PLOS This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles featuring original research from science, engineering and medicine.
PLOS Journal Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
PLoS publishes seven highly selective peer-reviewed journals. The advanced search provides several parameters for searching.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Extensive listing of medical journal articles compiled by the U.S. government.

Scitable
Scitable is a free science-research portal aimed at college faculty and students and includes "well-designed, easy-to-use site featuring academically vetted and juried, research-level content."

Use Google Scholar with the Full Text@Grace College feature to find scholarly articles within the library's collection.

Set your preferences in Google Scholar:

Go to Google Scholar
Click on Settings
Click on "Library Links" in the left column and type in: Grace College & Seminary
Select "Grace College & Seminary - Full Text @ Grace College"
Click "Save"

Email Me

Contact:

574-372-5100 x6292

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Citations of magazine articles, reviews and scholarly journals containing an evangelical perspective. Some full-text articles.