Skip to main content

The Journal of Integrative Behavioral Science Writing Guide: Articles

Guide for authors of the The Journal of Integrative Behavioral Science

Scholarly Journal or Magazine?

How can you tell if an article is scholarly or from a magazine?

If you get your article from an online database, you can usually limit your results list to just scholarly journals.  If you are using a print copy, here's some tips: 

1. Scholarly journals report on original research and usually include charts, graphs and formulas.  The articles are lengthy and usually have headings like method or methodology, results, and conclusion and include a bibliography.   Examples of scholarly journals are American Journal of Education, Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society, and Modern Fiction Studies.

2. Magazine articles are written to inform and entertain a general audience. They may be news magazines, sports interest, cultural and social news, or a variety of topics features.  They usually have colorful covers, lots of photos and advertisements.  Articles are usually brief but can be longer and they seldom have a bibliography.  Examples of magazines are Newsweek, Good Housekeeping, and Popular Mechanics. 

Journal & Magazine Citations

Scholarly Article in a Print Journal APA 7.01.01, 7.01.03

Example:


Scholarly Article Accessed Online APA 6.32, 7.01.01, 7.01.03

APA style does not distinguish between articles accessed through a database and articles accessed via the Web. The exact citation formation will depend on whether the article has a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) available.

  • If the article information DOES include a DOI, place it at the end of the citation.
  • If the article information DOES NOT include a DOI, give the URL of the journal home page (not the database in which it was retrieved).You may need to search the Internet to locate the journal's home page.

Example - Journal Article with DOI:

Example - Journal Article without DOI:


Scholarly Article by Multiple Authors APA 7.01.02, 7.01.03

Two to Seven Authors

List each author in the same order they appear in the article's byline. Use the ampersand (&) rather than the word "and."

Example:

Wenneker, C.P., Wigbolus, D.H., & Spears, R. (2005). Biased language use in

stereotype maintenance: The role of encoding and goals. Journal of Personality

and Social Psychology, 89(4), 504-516. doi:10.1037/0022-3514.89.4.504

Eight or More Authors

List the first six authors. Insert an ellipses (...) after the name of the sixth author followed by the name of the last author listed


Article in a Print Magazine APA 7.01.7

Example:


Magazine Article Accessed Online APA 6.32, 7.01.08

APA does not distinguish between articles accessed through a database and articles accessed via the Web. Cite the article as you would a print article, followed by:

  • The URL of the magazine's home page (not the database in which you retrieved it). You may have to do a quick Internet search to locate the URL for the journal home page.
  • Do not include page numbers for magazine articles accessed online.

Example:


Citation examples courtesy Pellissippi State Community College Library Guides.