Some resources are only available in digital format, some are only in print, and some are available in both formats.
Search LancerQuest to discover resources:
Discover the people, places, archaeology and theology from the biblical world. Arranged alphabetically. Many also feature a Scripture Index.
Dictionary of New Testament Background by 
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Pentateuch by 
Holman Concise Bible Dictionary by
The Holman Concise Bible Dictionary is the right resource when you just want the basics about a certain subject in Scripture. It easily covers all the traditional Bible dictionary topics-summaries of books in the Bible, major characters, places, animals, plants, etc.-with clarity and convenience. Plus, the volume features more than 2,800 articles on a variety of contemporary topics, including abortion, assisted suicide, child abuse, birth control, credit cards, animal rights, career, and dinosaurs. In all, this book offers more than 4,000 entries.
Interested in a specific chapter or set of pages? Fill out this form and we will email you a pdf.
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia by 
The IVP Dictionary of the New Testament by 
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis by 
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by 
Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible by Discover the geography, culture and history of the biblical world. Includes timelines, maps and essays.
Crossway ESV Bible Atlas by
This groundbreaking, full-color companion to the ESV Bible combines visual appeal with state-of-the-art historical and geographical resources in one user-friendly volume.
Holman Bible Atlas by
The Holman Bible Atlas offers a visual feast through which the reader can explore the world of the Bible. Utilizing 140 full color maps key to biblical events and 140 full color photographs illustrating the land, sites, and archaeology of the biblical world, the Atlas draws the reader into the biblical story.The Holman Bible Atlas begins with an introduction to the geography of the biblical world emphasizing the major physical features of the Ancient Near East with special attention given to the geographical regions of Palestine. Information about daily life and the role of archaeology in recovering ancient cultures are discussed.
Oxford Bible Atlas by
This new edition of the Oxford Bible Atlas, now with full-colour maps and illustrations, has been thoroughly revised to bring it up to date with regard both to biblical scholarship and to archaeology and topography. The Atlas will help readers of the Bible understand the contexts in which its stories are set and to appreciate the world from which it emerged and which formed its background. Maps show the geographical setting of the Bible's storiesand reflect the successive stages of the Bible's accounts, while specially chosen full-colour illustrations bring the countries and their peoples to life. The accompanying text describes the land of Palestine, and its wider ancient Near Eastern and east Mediterranean settings. It outlines clearly the successivehistorical periods, and describes the major civilizations with which Israelites, Jews, and early Christians came into contact. There is also an illustrated survey of the relevance of archaeology for the study of the Bible. The Atlas provides a superb guide to the geography of the Holy Land throughout biblical history, from the Exodus period through to New Testament times.
Interested in a specific chapter or set of pages? Fill out this form and we will email you a pdf.
The Biblical World by
Casting the tumultuous history of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam against the rich canvas of the Near East, The Biblical World reveals how three great religions emerged from the same cradle. Author Jean-Pierre Isbouts employs a non-denominational perspective and a wide range of sources--from ancient hieroglyphic texts to the latest scientific findings--to place Bible stories in the framework of history. Chronologically arranged chapters detail battles, conquests, tribal migrations, natural calamities, and more, supporting the stories with intriguing archaeological evidence. To locate sites and events, National Geographic cartographers have created fifty all-new maps of stunning quality. Hundreds of photographs and artifacts add visual excitement. Quick-read timelines link events across cultures while illustrated sidebars focus on what life was like during each era- family roles, farming, trade, dress, childbirth, burial customs, and other aspects of daily existence. The story traces the evolution of Judaism from Abraham to the Unified Kingdom of Israel... chronicles the emergence of Christianity in the context of Greco-Roman civilization... and identifies the unique circumstances that prepared for the rise of Islam. The multi-dimensional approach weighs similarities and differences among the three faiths and follows developments in nearby lands. With a foreword from bestselling author Bruce Chilton and text reviewed by distinguished advisers, The Biblical World offers a carefully researched, balanced view of history and religious tradition. For its scope, beauty, and relevance in today's world, this unparalleled atlas is destined to become a classic.
The IVP Atlas of Bible History by
ECPA Christian Book Award Winner Taking a narrative approach, The IVP Atlas of Bible History draws you into the rich resources available today on the Bible's history, geography and archaeology. The many maps, photographs, drawings and reconstructions on every page help you see for yourself what the people of Bible times saw and did. The Atlas presents the latest findings in history and archaeology in a readable style that will appeal to anyone wanting to know more about the history of the Bible. The world of the Bible deals with more than the modern state of Israel. Almost half of the events in the Bible are set outside this territory, and much of the Bible is addressed to people in other lands. Thus this atlas covers the world of the Bible, stretching from Spain to Iran, from Yemen to northern Greece. Trade widened these horizons even further to include India and possibly China and the east coast of Africa. The history of the Bible is played out on the stages of Egypt, Rome, Babylon and Persia. Many of the places in the ancient world are still important today, like Jerusalem, Damascus and Athens. These all play their role in the story that has shaped the imaginations and dreams of peoples and nations for centuries. All this, and more, is found in the pages of this enlightening, wonderful book.
The New Moody Atlas of the Bible by
The New Moody Atlas of the Bible integrates the geography of Bible lands with the teachings of the Bible. Dr. Beitzel has blended the topographical and historical in 118 full color, detailed, and digitized maps of places like Palestine, the Mediterranean, the Near East, the Sinai, and Turkey. Learn of God's protection and guidance by following Israel's forty-year sojourn in the wilderness, and appreciate the results of the Great Commission to 'teach all nations' by seeing the scope of Paul's three missionary journeys. All of the graphics are brand new, and every page was substantially rewritten, updated, and expanded to bring you more than one hundred thousand words that provide useful commentary throughout. Superior photography, comprehensive geographic detail, award-winning maps, distinctive theological discussion of geographical matters, and thorough documentation in the form of new indexes and 800+ endnotes set this atlas apart. The New Moody Atlas of Bible Lands is an invaluable asset to Sunday school and home school teachers, as well as seminary and Bible college students.
The Sacred Bridge by
The present atlas seeks to introduce the reader to the geographical elements that can help to make real the social, historical and spiritual experience of the People of the Book.
Search LancerQuest for books, articles, videos, and so much more:
Type b8:akron in the LancerQuest search bar to find titles held at Akron.
Use with advanced search to combine search terms. See this example of an advanced search.
Contact us!
