Research Guides: COM 2700 Public Relations Principles: Local & Statistical Information

Understanding your Community

Hoosiers by the Numbers

Hoosierdata.in.gov provides labor market information for Indiana.

U.S. Census Data

Data.census.gov provides access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Local Health Organizations

K-21 Health Foundation
Kosciusko Community Hospital
Kosciusko County Health Department
Parkview Health System - Warsaw
Bowen Center Bowen Center offers a variety of caring and confidential Mental Health and Substance Use services to children, adults and families.
Kosciusko Community Senior Services We provide services to people age 60 and older, and are also a Medicaid Waiver provider. These needs are identified through personal contacts, numerous surveys by several other County Social Service and governmental agencies, physicians, and family members. United Way of Kosciusko County, the City of Warsaw, and our County Council are interested in improving and enlarging options for Seniors and their families. It is our purpose and our goal to develop services and alternatives to improve the life circumstances of our Seniors.

Social Services and Education

Grace College & Seminary
Indiana Tech
Ivy Tech Community College - Warsaw
Lakeland Christian Schools
Warsaw Community Schools
Cardinal Services
Joe's Kids
Kosciusko Community Foundation
Lions Club Founded in 1917, we are best known for fighting blindness, but we also volunteer for many different kinds of community projects - including caring for the environment, feeding the hungry and aiding seniors and the disabled.
Warsaw Community Public Library
Education Professional Associations & Organizations
This website offers a list of associations in the field of Education, Most are identified by subject or specific area of eduction.

General

Condition of Education
The indicators examine the characteristics of postsecondary students; postsecondary programs and courses of study; finance and resources; postsecondary completions; and economic outcomes, both for postsecondary graduates and the general population.
Digest of Education Statistics (1995- )
The publication contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
Fast Facts
Provides concise information on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning.
Projections of Education Statistics
Provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary public and private schools, as well as enrollment and degrees conferred at postsecondary degree-granting institutions.

State Data

Independent Colleges of Indiana
Statistics on Indiana’s Private, Nonprofit Colleges and Universities
Indiana Commission for Higher Education - College Readiness Reports
These annual report help local schools and communities understand how their students are performing in college while informing policies that increase college readiness and success.
Indiana Department of Education
National Information Center for Higher Education Policymaking and Analysis
This resource is designed to provide state policymakers and analysts timely and accurate data and information that are useful in making sound higher education policy decisions.

Institutional Data

Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
IPEDS is the primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States. The Data Center allows you to create comparative data charts.
Higher Education General Information Survey (HEGIS)
This Series, the predecessor to the IPEDS, was designed to provide comprehensive information on various aspects of postsecondary education in the United States. Data are available for both public and private two-year and four-year institutions.

Historical

120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait
Contains statistical trends of elementary, secondary, and higher education institutions. Text and charts describe historical shifts in educational attainment, enrollment, staff, degrees and finance.

Local Information

Local News Sources

ABC57 (South Bend)

Ink Free News

The Journal Gazette (Fort Wayne)

Warsaw Times Union

WANE (Fort Wayne)

WNDU (South Bend)

WPTA (Fort Wayne)

WSBT (South Bend)

Local Public Enterprises

Kosciusko County (Government)

Warsaw Community Public Library

Warsaw Community Schools

Warsaw, Indiana Government

Winona Lake, Indiana

Governments hold regular meetings open meetings. You can often locate minutes at their websites.

Indiana news

Local Business Resources

Kosciusko Chamber of Commerce
"The mission of the Kosciusko Chamber of Commerce is to be the advocate of business in stimulating economic growth and diversity, promoting educational excellence and coordinating action on issues of community importance."
Kosciusko County Visitor Center
Kosciusko Economic Development Corporation
Kosciusko Economic Development Corporation (KEDCo) was formed in 1984 to promote economic and community development in the county by providing the "single point of contact that can provide the information, assistance and networking necessary to assist existing and new businesses achieve their goals."
Orthoworx

Local Government Websites

City Data

American Community Survey - US Census
Best Places
Livability
USA.Com "Your local guide to cities, towns, neighborhoods, states, counties, metro areas, zip codes, area codes, and schools in USA."

Political Parties

Newspaper Articles

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information. Includes The New York Times.
McClatchy-Tribune Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news (last 90 days only) from news wires, newspapers, television, and radio shows.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text news articles from more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, and some full-text from over 300 regional newspapers. Also features full-text transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.

Historical Information

Wayback Machine

How has the website of your organization changed through the years? Check out the Internet Archives' Wayback Machine for screenshots of websites through the years.

Google News

Google News alerts

Setting up Google News Alerts

Go to google.com/alerts
Enter the search terms you want the Google Alert to track, separated by commas. Use quotation marks ( " ") around phrases.
Choose how often you’d like to receive your Google Alerts.
Under SOURCES choose "News".
Choose how many results you want to get. You can receive “only the best results” or “everything.”
Enter the Gmail where you want to have your Google News Alerts delivered. You can also set up an RSS feed.
Click "Create Alert" button.

Federal Statistical Agencies

Bureau of Justice Statistics The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. BJS also provides financial and technical support to state, local, and tribal governments to improve both their statistical capabilities and the quality and utility of their criminal history records.
Census Bureau The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Energy Information Administration
Economic Research Service
United States Department of Agriculture Statistics (USDA)
National Center for Education Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Statistics (CDC)
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
Office of Research, Evaluation, and Statistics (Social Security)
Statistics of Income (IRS)