Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Helpful Links
Many of these links do not fit within the guides created for specific classes but could be helpful for general research. They are listed by subject areas for ease of locating.
Digital Book Index
Digital Book Index provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.
Great Books Online
From the website: We are the preeminent internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
The Online Books Page
Listing over 2 million free books on the Web.
Online Library of Liberty
A collection of scholarly works about individual liberty and free markets.
Perseus Digital Library
Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.
Directory of Open Access Books
Academic, peer reviewed books published as open access.
Federal Government Resources
The White House
Official White House webpages including information about current administration, history of the White House and current issues.
U. S. Senate
Official website for information about current senators, committees and legislation. Also included are links to archived floor proceedings and to live floor proceedings.
U. S. House of Representatives
Official website for the House of Representatives with information on current representatives, committees and legislative activity. Explanations of the composition of the House as well as committee roles and procedures are included.
Official statistical information produced by the Federal Government -- covering economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, farm production, energy use, and more.
American Census Data
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Library of Congress
Find here a treasure trove of historical digital collections including primary sources like presidential papers, recordings of prominent Americans and much much more.
Deep Blue is the University of Michigan's permanent, safe, and accessible service for representing our rich intellectual community. Its primary goal is to provide access to the work that makes Michigan a leader in research, teaching, and creativity.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Database that searches many repositories of Open Access dissertations worldwide.
OhioLINK ETD Center
The ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.
Open Access Theses & Dissertations
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
SUNScholar Research Repository
Repository of dissertations from Stellenbosch University Library which contains doctoral degrees in Ancient Studies.
University of Pittsburgh ETD
Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs) are theses or dissertations prepared as text-based PDF files. ETDs can contain non-text elements such as multimedia, sound, video, and hypertext links.
Access to millions of open access research papers.
Large collection of academic resources for many different disciplines
Indexes to Grace Resources
Index to literature criticism print resources located on the lower level of the Library. -- like Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and much more.
Mental Measurements Yearbook Index
Index to Mental Measurements Yearbook which includes descriptive information on over 3,500 commercially available tests. May provide validity and reliability information.
Indiana Legacy Search
To allow users the ability to search Indiana local history and vital records. Types of searches include birth, death, marriage, military, newspaper articles and more
Genealogy Center Free Databases
Listing of free databases provided by the Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center.