Skip to main content

Deploy: Annotated Bibliographies

Instructions for Seminary Library research.

What's an Annotated Bibliography?

WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?

An annotated bibliography provides additional information about a work along with the bibliographic citation.

The annotation usually provides a summary of the work, an evaluation, and information about the author.  Some annotations are only a summary of the work.  Check with your professor to see what is required for your assignment.

The annotation is usually 1 to 2 paragraphs in length, about 100 to 150 words.

 

QUESTIONS TO CONSIDER IN WRITING AN ANNOTATION PARAGRAPH

1. What are the main points of the work (article, books, etc.)?

2. What is the author’s position on the topic?  What credentials does the author have to speak to this topic?

3. Is there any bias?

4. To whom is the author writing?

5. How well does the author make his/her point?  Is the author convincing?

6. How useful is this work to your research?  

7. Are there important points that you want to remember?

8. What is your reaction to the work?

SAMPLE - APA

APA does not provide formal guidelines for formatting an annotated bibliography.   We suggest that you format the Annotated Bibliography based on the APA guidelines for the Reference page.  

  • Sort alphabetically by the first author's last name.
  • Use Times New Roman, 12-point font
  • Double space with no extra spaces between entries

SAMPLE:

Phillips, M., Van Epps, A., Johnson, N., & Zwicky, D. (2018). Effective Engineering Information Literacy

Instruction: A Systematic Literature Review. Journal of Academic Librarianship, 44(6), 705–711.

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2018.10.006

This study investigated effective methods of teaching information literacy to engineering

undergraduate students. Thirteen studies were included in the final data set, of which eleven

studies reported effective results based largely upon descriptive statistical analysis. The

strongest indicator of effectiveness that emerged in the data was collaboration with disciplinary 

faculty.

Samples

There are 2 Zotero citation styles that include annotations:  APA and Chicago.  

To add these citations styles to your Zotero account, add them through Preferences.

 

Access additional styles through Cite, then the Styles tab

 

Type in the style name (APA or Chicago) or type (Annotated).  Choose the citation style.  After the file downloads, install.

 

For the APA style, Zotero uses the ABSTRACT field to create the Annotation.  Replace the annotation provided by the database with your own annotation and place it in the ABSTRACT field.