Skip to Main Content

LIT 3670 Young Adult Literature: Awards

Indiana Authors Award

Indiana Authors Award logo


The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award seeks to recognize the contributions of Indiana authors to the literary landscape in Indiana and across the nation.

The 2020 Award Winners

2020 Young Adult Winner

The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature

The Michael L. Printz Award is awarded annually by the Young Adults Library Seravices division of the American Library Association.  It honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit.  The award is named in honor of a Topeka, Kansas school librarian, Michael L. Printz.

List of Winners and Honors books

2021  Winner  

Margaret A. Edwards Award

The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world. 

2021 Winner 

"Kekla Magoon is the recipient of the 2021 Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens for “X: A Novel” co-written by Ilyasah Shabazz and published by Candlewick Press; “How it Went Down” published by Henry Holt and Co. Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Macmillan Children's Publishing Group; “The Rock and the River” and “Fire in the Streets” both published by Aladdin, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing."

Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award

 Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award is an award chosen by students across Indiana in grades nine through twelve. Students at participating high schools and public libraries who read any of approximately 20 nominated books are eligible to rate each book they've read. Ballots are available on the Rosie website. The votes are tabulated each May, and the winner is announced.

The website includes book trailers, powerpoints, and other resources available for past and current winners and nominees. 

2020-2021 Eliot Rosewater Award Winner
Monday's Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson

Runner Up

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.  The award's namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. Bill Morris left an impressive mark on the field of children’s and young adult literature. He was beloved in the publishing field and the library profession for his generosity and marvelous enthusiasm for promoting literature for children and teens.

2021 Winner


Black Girl Unlimited:  The Remarkable Story of a Teenage Wizard written by Echo Brown, The Black Kids written by Christina Hammonds Reed, It Sounded Better in my Head written by Nina Kenwood, TWoven in Moodlight written by Isabel Ibanez.

574-372-5100 ext. 6297
Morgan Library - Learning Center
Grace College & Seminary
1 Lancer Way
Winona Lake, IN 46590
chat loading...