If using copyrighted materials consider adding this statement the document:
Notice: This material may be protected by copyright law (Title 17 U.S. Code)
You may want to limit your PDFs to read-only copies. This can only be done on Adobe Acrobat PRO.
To create a read-only version of a PDF, open the file using Adobe Acrobat. Open Document Security dialog box by clicking File --> Properties and choose the Security tab in the Document Properties pop-up window.
By Default, PDF has no security settings, and Security Methods shows "No Security." Choose Password Security setting in the drop-down box. Password Security Settings dialog box will pop up.
Check Restrict editing and printing of the document box Enter a password you would like to use to protect the file, and select permissions for Printing and changes, and click OK. You'll have to re-enter the password before the window closes.
Save the file and close it.
Now PDF file is read-only and print protected (if selected).
**Adobe disclaimer states that some PDF editors may bypass the security set up in Adobe Acrobat.
What can VitalSource provide? Publishing companies such as APA, Cengage Learning, Elsevier, Oxford, Pearson Education, SAGE, Taylor & Francis and many more are offering free access to students whose classes have moved online due to Covid-19.
Who can access VitalSource? Students and instructors with a participating institution provided email address. (Yes, Grace College & Seminary is a participating institution.) You must use your Grace email address.
What do I have to do to use this service? You will need to create an account (see the info in the pink stripe on the page linked above) You will be emailed to confirm your new account. Then you can log in and click on Explore. You can search for titles by ISBN, title, author or keyword.
How many ebooks can I use? You may access up to 7 titles. These titles may be downloaded to a laptop or mobile device using VitalSource's Bookshelf app, which is available from Apple and Android app stores.
Is there courseware available with these etexts? No, courseware is not included with these titles.
Pearson provides tutorials to assist with:
Converting to an online course
Tips and tricks for moving a course online quickly.
Using screencasting for student feedback
What is available?
JoVE Core - a video textbook that isolates and visually presents core concepts in Biology and Social Psychology
JoVE Science Education -- a collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations in eight STEM fields
Lab Manual - comprehensive, curriculum focused videos for introductory biology lab courses.
Specialists are available to help faculty map JoVE videos to their curriculum - at no charge.
If you want to provide journal articles or electronic resources for students, it is best to provide persistent or permanent URLs for them to access the title, rather than downloading and sending articles to them. Below are the steps for locating electronic versions of articles and persistent URLs as well as the instructions for putting that information into Moodle.
First, locate the electronic version of the article.
Library --> Research, --> click on Find Full-Text Journals 
Enter Journal Title or the article title, choose the appropriate Tab.
Click on database link, to open the database
EBSCOHost Databases
Locate the date/volume of article, and then follow links to the article citation.
Open Article Citation and click on Permalink,(1), copy the Permalink (2)
JSTOR
The Stable URL will be on the Document page
and on the first page of the PDF.
Copy the stable URL.
Nexis Uni Academic
From the Full text page, click on Actions (right of document title).
Click on LINK to this page
A new window will pop up with the persistent link, copy the link.
SAGE Publications
Open the PDF of the article Full Text (PDF)
The URL in your browser is the permalink. Copy that URL.
Now you can add the document link In Moodle
In Editing Mode, Add Activity or Resource, under Resources
Choose URL, click Add
Under General, in Name box, Enter title of article
In External URL box, enter Permalink/Persistent Link or Bookmark
URL in box with the Prefix:https://heinz.grace.edu/login?url=
Click on Save and Return to course.
**information current as of 3/16/20
Broadband Internet access for free or small fees which students who need internet access can take advantage of:
FCC agreement stating that providers will waive late fees, not cutoff service for lack of payment, and open hot-spots.
Comcast COVID-19 response: offers free WiFi for 2 months to low-income families plus all Xfinity hot-spots are free to the public during this time
Charter Free Internet offer for 2 months
AT&T COVID-19 response: offers open hot-spots, unlimited data to existing customers, and $10/month plans to low-income families
Verizon COVID-19 response: no special offers, but following the FCC agreement.
Sprint COVID-19 response: follows FCC agreement, provides unlimited data to existing customers, and starting Tuesday, 3/17/2020 will allow all handsets to enable hot-spots for 60 days at no extra charge (I expect others will follow).
T-Mobile COVID-19 response: follows FCC agreement, plus unlimited data to existing customers, and coming soon will allow all handsets to enable hot-spots for 60 days at no extra charge.